WhatsApp Unsend message feature 'finally works' to let users delete embarrassing texts

It now appears to be nearly ready to roll out to all users

Aatif Sulleyman
Tuesday 12 September 2017 15:44
comments

WhatsApp’s much-anticipated “Unsend” feature is working, a new report says.

The messaging app has been known to be developing the feature for some time, and it now appears to be nearly ready to roll out to all users.

Unsend – which is also being called “Recall”, “Revoke” and “Delete for Everyone” – lets you delete a message you’ve already sent to a contact.

According to WABetaInfo, it could roll out to users “soon”.

The Unsend function is expected to work on all types of messages, including text, images, videos, GIFs and documents.

However, you won’t be able to unsend messages that have already been read, or messages that were sent more than five minutes ago.

Unsend is likely to prove extremely popular with users, as it could help them avoid embarrassment.

Accidentally messaging somebody you’ve been talking about with someone else is a fairly common gaffe, as are drunk texts sent in the heat of the moment, which you may later come to regret.

“WhatsApp is finally testing the Delete for Everyone feature: the server finally works and it successfully recalls the message,” said WABetaInfo.

“It will be remotely enabled later, and seen that WhatsApp ‘enabled’ their servers for the Delete for Everyone feature, it may really be enabled soon.”

WhatsApp is working to bring Unsend to both iOS and Android devices.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments