A woman drinks a glass of wine as she speaks and shares a drink with friends via a video call on March 26, 2020, in Bordeaux, southwestern France
A woman drinks a glass of wine as she speaks and shares a drink with friends via a video call on March 26, 2020, in Bordeaux, southwestern France

Zoom video chat app faces questions over privacy as popularity surges amid coronavirus lockdown

Andrew Griffin
Friday 27 March 2020 09:23
Comments

Popular video chat app Zoom is facing questions over its privacy after being accused of passing information about its users to Facebook.

Zoom has shot up in popularity in recent weeks as people across the world are forced to stay at home to stop the spread of coronavirus. It has become a popular way for workplaces, schools, friendship groups and even the UK government to host video chats, allowing large groups of people to meet up virtually.

But as it has grown, Zoom has faced questions about the security and privacy of the users and chats on the platform.

The latest concerns come as it has been revealed that when a user downloads the iOS app and opens it on their phone, it communicates with Facebook, according to analysis from Motherboard.

When the Zoom app is opened up, it sends information such as the model of the user's device, where they are connecting from, what phone network they are on and a special unique code that can be used to identify the device.

Such data transfer regularly happens within apps, especially those that make use of Facebook's tools for developers. But developers are usually required to make that information explicit, by warning users about it in their privacy policy.

Zoom's privacy policy does say that it might communicate with Facebook when users have logged into it. It makes no mention of the fact that information is being sent to Facebook even if a user doesn't actually have an account on the social network, as Motherboard's analysis indicates it does.

Facebook had already faced criticism last year when it emerged that hackers would be able to spy on the people using the app because of a bug in its code.

The Electronic Frontier Foundation also found that the app includes a host of tools that allow administrators to track the way that people in a workplace are using it. Managers can see details on how often people are using the app and when, and also includes an attention tracking tool that lets people see whether the app is on focus on a user's screen.

Zoom did not respond to questions over its privacy policy and settings.

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid email
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Must be at least 6 characters, include an upper and lower case character and a number
Please enter your first name
Special characters aren’t allowed
Please enter a name between 1 and 40 characters
Please enter your last name
Special characters aren’t allowed
Please enter a name between 1 and 40 characters
You must be over 18 years old to register
You must be over 18 years old to register
Opt-out-policy
You can opt-out at any time by signing in to your account to manage your preferences. Each email has a link to unsubscribe.

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

Comments

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged in