Ten colleges to become new universities

Wednesday 28 November 2012 01:00

Ten specialist colleges are set to become universities under the biggest expansion of higher education for 20 years.

Universities Minister David Willetts is expected to recommend to the Privy Council that the institutions have met the criteria to become universities after the threshold on student numbers needed for an institution to apply for the title was lowered. The new institutions include The Arts University College at Bournemouth, the Royal Agricultural College and University College Birmingham.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments