Welfare bill: Who are the 48 rebel Labour MPs who voted against it?

Labour MP John McDonnell said he would 'swim through vomit' to oppose the bill

Alice Harrold
Tuesday 21 July 2015 13:01

A split of 48 MPs caused Labour's reasoned amendment to the welfare bill to lose by 208 votes to 308 votes.

Acting leader, Harriet Harman, ordered the party to abstain on the bill’s vote but dozens of MPs chose to defy the party whip.

The rebel MPs include party leadership candidate Jeremy Corbyn, and London Mayor candidates Diane Abbott, Sadiq Khan and David Lammy.

The main changes proposed by the Government are reducing the household welfare cap from £26,000 to £23,000, abolishing legally binding child poverty targets, cuts to child tax credits, cuts to Employment and Support Allowance, and cuts to housing benefit for young people.

The 48 rebel Labour MPs who voted against the welfare bill:

Diane Abbott

Debbie Abrahams

David Anderson

Richard Burgon

Dawn Butler

Ann Clwyd

Jeremy Corbyn

Geraint Davies

Peter Dowd

Paul Flynn

Mary Glindon

Roger Godsiff

Helen Goodman

Margaret Greenwood

Louise Haigh

Carolyn Harris

Sue Hayman

Imran Hussain

Gerald Jones

Helen Jones

Sir Gerald Kaufman

Sadiq Khan

David Lammy

Ian Lavery

Clive Lewis

Rebecca Long Bailey

Andy McDonald

John McDonnell

Liz McInnes

Rob Marris

Rachael Maskell

Michael Meacher

Ian Mearns

Madeleine Moon

Grahame Morris

Kate Osamor

Teresa Pearce

Marie Rimmer

Paula Sherriff

Tulip Siddiq

Dennis Skinner

Cat Smith

Jo Stevens

Graham Stringer

David Winnick

Iain Wright

Daniel Zeichner

Kelvin Hopkins (Teller)

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments