Netherlands v Mexico team news: Robin van Persie returns to lead Dutch as Carlos Salcido replaces suspended José Juan Vázquez for Mexico

Van Gaal makes two changes for the Dutch as Van Persie and Verhaegh come into starting line-up

Robin van Persie scores a header in the Netherlands' 5-1 victory over Spain
Robin van Persie scores a header in the Netherlands' 5-1 victory over Spain

Netherlands manager Louis van Gaal has made two changes for the second round clash with Mexico as Paul Verhaegh and Robin van Persie return to the starting line-up.

Van Gaal reverts back to the 3-5-2 formation that he fielded in the opening two matches of Group B, with Daryl Janmaat and Jeremain Lens dropping out of the starting XI to accommodate Verhaegh and Van Persie.

Former Liverpool forward Dirk Kuyt will make his 100th appearance for the Dutch, and is likely to start as a makeshift wing-back rather than a wide-forward like he played in at Anfield.

Mexico make just one change as Carlos Salcido comes in for the suspended José Juan Vázquez in midfield after the latter picked up a second booking of the campaign in the 3-1 win over Croatia. Rafael Marquez skippers the side in a five-man defence, with Hector Moreno set to continue alongside him having attracted a lot of attention in Brazil for his good form in the group stages.

Manchester United striker Javioer Hernandez is named on the bench once again.


Netherlands: Cillessen; De Vrij, Vlaar, Blind; Kuyt, Verhaegh, De Jong, Wijnaldum, Sneijder; Van Persie, Robben

Mexico: Ochoa; Ahuilar, Rodriguez, Marquez, Moreno, Layun; Salcido, Herrera, Guardado; Dos Santos, Peralta.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments