Robin van Persie included in Holland squad

Wednesday 03 November 2010 18:05
Wenger has said Van Persie has no chance of being fit for Holland's game with Turkey
Wenger has said Van Persie has no chance of being fit for Holland's game with Turkey

Injured Arsenal striker Robin van Persie has been named in the preliminary Holland squad for their friendly against Turkey in Amsterdam on November 17.

National coach Bert van Marwijk has included the frontman, who has been out since late August with an ankle injury, in his 24-man party.

The news is unlikely to go down well with Gunners boss Arsene Wenger, who claimed last month that Van Persie had "no chance" of playing in the match.

Manchester City midfielder Nigel de Jong, who was dropped from the squad for last month's Euro 2012 qualifiers against Moldova and Sweden as punishment for his tackle which broke Hatem Ben Arfa's leg, has again been left out.

Van Persie is not the only player carrying an injury to be included in the squad.

Liverpool's Dirk Kuyt, Mark van Bommel, Khalid Boulahrouz, Wout Brama, Eljero Elia, Theo Janssen and Ruud van Nistelrooy have also been called up despite injury.

Van Bommel's call-up is likely to add to the strain between Bayern Munich and the Dutch Football Association (KNVB).

Bayern asked for Van Bommel to be released before the qualifier against Sweden after he suffered a recurrence of a knee problem, but Van Marwijk, his father-in-law, claimed he was fit and he played for 70 minutes.

The club had already been in dispute with the KNVB after Arjen Robben returned from the World Cup with a hamstring injury.

Holland squad: Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Michel Vorm (FC Utrecht); Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax), Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart), Joris Mathijsen (Hamburg), Peter Wisgerhof (Twente), Erik Pieters (PSV Eindhoven), Wilfred Bouma (PSV), John Heitinga (Everton), Hedwiges Maduro (Valencia); Ibrahim Afellay (PSV), Wout Brama (FC Twente), Mark van Bommel (Bayern Munich), Theo Janssen (Twente), Stijn Schaars (AZ Alkmaar), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham), Demy de Zeeuw (Ajax), Eljero Elia (Hamburg); Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Jeremain Lens (PSV), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Hamburg), Robin van Persie (Arsenal).

Register for free to continue reading

Registration is a free and easy way to support our truly independent journalism

By registering, you will also enjoy limited access to Premium articles, exclusive newsletters, commenting, and virtual events with our leading journalists

Already have an account? sign in

By clicking ‘Register’ you confirm that your data has been entered correctly and you have read and agree to our Terms of use, Cookie policy and Privacy notice.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy policy and Terms of service apply.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in