PFA Premier League Team of the Year: Liverpool and Man City dominate as only one other team represented

Six players from City and four from their Premier League title rivals are included with Manchester United's Paul Pogba the only other selection

Ben Burrows@benburrows_
Thursday 25 April 2019 09:47
Who will win PFA player of the year?

Manchester City and Liverpool predictably dominate the PFA Team of the Year.

Six players from City and four from their Premier League title rivals are included with Manchester United's Paul Pogba the only other selection.

Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk and Andrew Robertson join Aymeric Laporte in defence with Fernandinho and Bernardo Silva alongside Pogba in midfield.

Sergio Aguero and Raheem Sterling line up with Sadio Mane as the attackers.

Mohamed Salah and Eden Hazard are surprise omissions with the Chelsea playmaker on the six-man shortlist for the Players' Player of the Year award.

Van Dijk is one of three Liverpool defenders selected

City's enviable attacking options have been at the heart of their title defence and Aguero has once again led the line with aplomb.

The Argentinian, currently the joint top-scorer in the league alongside Salah and Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang on 19 goals this season, is the only player to retain his position in the PFA side from 12 months ago.

Aguero has edged out - among others - Harry Kane, who is absent from the list for the first time in five seasons.

Sterling makes his first appearance in the PFA XI to supplement Aguero in attack, having found the net 17 times and provided 10 assists, while Mane - with 18 goals so far this term - completes the forward line.

Bernardo has been outstanding for title-chasing City 

The front trio are all in contention for the Players' Player award - as is Bernardo Silva, who has earned rave reviews for his performances in City's midfield.

The Portuguese and tenacious City team-mate Fernandinho take their spots in the centre of the park, as does Pogba, despite some lacklustre displays in United's recent dip in form under Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

Laporte, who signed for City in January 2018 for a then club record fee of £57million, breaks up the Liverpool hegemony in the back four.

Van Dijk, who joined Liverpool in a record £75m transfer in the same month Laporte completed his move to City, has been a reassuring and instrumental presence in the Reds' back line.

The Dutchman will be a strong contender to win the Players' Player award and he partners Laporte at centre-back, with Alexander-Arnold and Robertson occupying the full-back berths.

Support free-thinking journalism and attend Independent events

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson has conceded two fewer goals and kept two more clean sheets than City counterpart and Brazilian compatriot Ederson.

But it is Ederson who takes the number one jersey with the PFA, which will honour the players at its annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 28.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year 2019

Ederson (Manchester City), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Fernandinho (Manchester City), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments