Ivor Novello Awards 2015 winners list: Ed Sheeran, Clean Bandit and Hozier triumph

Clean Bandit won two awards including Best Contemporary Song

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Ed Sheeran, Clean Bandit and Hozier have triumphed at this year's Ivor Novello Awards, held at London's Grosvenor House this afternoon to honour achievements in songwriting and composing.

Irish musician Hozier's "Take Me To Church" won him Best Song, 24-year-old Sheeran won Songwriter of the Year, and electro-quartet Clean Bandit picked up two awards for "Rather Be" - Best Contemporary Song and Most Performed Work.

Bombay Bicycle Club took home an Ivor Novello for their album So Long, See You Tomorrow, while Black Sabbath, Boy George and Annie Lennox won lifetime achievement awards.

Winners list in full:

Most Performed Work - "Rather Be" by Clean Bandit, written by James Napier and Jack Patterson

Best TV soundtrack - The Honourable Woman by Natalie Holt and Martin Phipps

Outstanding Song Collection - Albert Hammond

Classical Music Award - Judith Weir

Album Award - So Long, See You Tomorrow by Bombay Bicycle Club, written by Jack Steadman

Best Song Musically and Lyrically - "Take Me To Church" by Hozier, written by Andrew Hozier-Byrne

Outstanding Contribution to British Music - Boy George

Best Original Film Score - '71 by David Holmes

Songwriter of the Year - Ed Sheeran

Inspiration Award - Manic Street Preachers

Best Contemporary Song - "Rather Be" by Clean Bandit, written by James Napier and Jack Patterson

Special Anniversary Award - Bob Geldof and Midge Ure

Lifetime Achievement - Black Sabbath

PRS for Music Special International Award - Paul Williams

BASCA Fellowship - Annie Lennox