Pink Floyd, Kate Bush, Public Service Broadcasting all nominated for Progressive Music Awards 2015

The awards will be held in September

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Is Kate Bush officially a “prog rocker”? The elusive performer has been nominated for the fourth annual Progressive Music Awards, along with Pink Floyd and King Crimson.

Bush’s 22-night Before The Dawn residency at Hammersmith Apollo, her first concert commitment for 35 years, is nominated for Live Event of the Year at the fourth awards staged by Prog Magazine.

Although Bush emerged in the post-punk years, she was mentored by David Gilmour, the Pink Floyd guitarist and her music, often involving multiple sections complex instrumental passages, has regularly leaned on tropes associated with progressive rock.

The organisers hope that the theatrical location for the September awards, the Underglobe at the Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, will encourage Ms Bush to make a rare public appearance.

Public Service Broadcasting, the indie electronic duo whose album The Race for Space relives the story of the American and Soviet space race, are a surprise “prog” nomination in the Vanguard breakthrough category.

Pink Floyd pick up three nominations for their comeback album of instrumental recordings, The Endless River. The veterans are recognised for Grand Design, Album and Band/Artist of the Year.

King Crimson and Steven Wilson are the only other artists with three nominations in the Grand Design and Band/Artist of the Year categories. Wilson is also nominated for Album of the Year with King Crimson getting the nod for of their US Tour for Live Event.

The awards, in September, will be hosted by Channel 5 presenter and prog rock fan, Matthew Wright.

Jerry Ewing, Editor of Prog magazine, said, “Prog magazine is currently enjoying its most successful year ever in terms of and I believe we are starting to see this reflected in the way the genre is interacting with the mainstream and with the commercial successes the front runners of today’s progressive scene are also enjoying.”

Previous prog award winners include Peter Gabriel, Rick Wakeman, Ian Anderson, Genesis, and Rush.