Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.


EA broadcasting Gamescom presentation live

Electronic Arts is set for a crucial press presentation at Gamescom in Cologne and is streaming the affair live online as it goes for gold with Battlefield 3, Star Wars: The Old Republic, FIFA 12 and Mass Effect 3.

First up on the Gamescom stage and presented with an hour-long slot, EA will want to make a lasting impression on the afternoon of Tuesday, August 16.

The games industry giant is sure to push not only Battlefield 3 (with sights set on kingpin Call of Duty), but also its new Origin download store.

Other key titles for them will be FIFA 12, as domestic soccer seasons get underway, and Star Wars: The Old Republic.

The ambitious Star Wars MMO is quite vocal about its intention to muscle in on World of Warcraft's territory. Gamescom represents prime opportunity to nail down a 2011 release date once and for all.

Other titles likely to see stage time are arcade racer Need for Speed: The Run, snowboarding reboot SSX, and the secret revitalization of futuristic, cyberpunk action-strategy hybrid Syndicate.

Is it too much to hope for a follow up to the innovative free-running scramble Mirrors Edge 2?

EA Gamescom press conference, Tuesday, August 16
4pm CET (Cologne, Germany)
3pm BST (London)
10am EDT (New York)
7am PDT (Los Angeles)
10pm Singapore, Malaysia

Wednesday, August 17
Midnight AEST (Sydney, Australia)
1am JST (Japan)