'Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception' confirmed for VGA show

The third game in the Uncharted series has been confirmed as one of the preview trailers to be shown at Saturday's Video Game Awards 2010.

Whereas Uncharted: Drake's Fortune took place in the Amazonian jungle, and Uncharted 2: Among Thieves was set in snowy and scenic Nepal, Uncharted 3 is to lead swashbuckling archaeologist Nathan Drake on an adventure to the remote deserts of Arabia.

It's also to expand on the co-operative and multiplayer modes seen in Uncharted 2, while retaining the series' cinematic qualities.

After a studio tour from the series' creators, news magazine Entertainment Weekly is expecting the game to launch in fall 2011.

The Spike TV Video Game Awards have lined up a glut of advance preview trailers for Saturday night's show, to be hosted by Neil Patrick Harris.

Hollywood director Guillermo del Toro will have a some of his new game shown, while footage relating to Batman: Arkham City, Portal 2, Prototype 2, Resistance 3, Gears of War 3, and an unnamed project from BioWare - the studio behind Dragon Age, Mass Effect and Star Wars: The Old Republic - will also be aired.

The Spike VGAs are to start at 5pm PST / 8pm EST on Saturday December 11, 1am GMT on Sunday 12. They mark the start of the end-of-year award season, which for most magazines, shows and websites will get into full swing during the last week of December.

Stay updated on the awards show via Spike TV's Twitter account: http://twitter.com/SPIKE_TV

The VGA website: http://www.spike.com/event/vga