Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr Michael Maclay, to be Special Adviser to Mr Douglas Hurd MP, Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs.

Sir Michael Bunbury, appointed to the Council of the Duchy of Lancaster.

Dr Colin Renshaw Lucas, to be Master of Balliol College, Oxford.

Mr RC Beetham, to be UK Permanent Representative to the Council of Europe at Strasbourg.

Mr AE Furness, to be HM Ambassador to the Republic of Senegal and also HM Ambassador (non-resident) to the Republic of Cape Verde.

Mr Nicholas Bevan, of the Cabinet Office, to be Speaker's Secretary, in succession to Sir Peter Kitcatt, who is retiring.

Mr Richard Thomas, to be Ambassador to the People's Republic of Angola.

His Honour Judge Stroyan QC, to be Senior Circuit Judge at Newcastle.

Mr Douglas May QC, to be a Social Security Commissioner and Child Support Commissioner.

Mr Donald Noel Cowling, to be a full- time Chairman of Industrial Tribunals.

Sir David Miers, to be Ambassador to the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Mr Richard Leigh Thomas, to be a full- time Chairman of Industrial Tribunals, assigned to the Southampton Region, to sit at Reading.

Mrs Judith Davidson, to be Immigration Adjudicator.

Mr Brian Redhead, to be Chancellor of Manchester University, from 1 August.