Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Canon Martin Wharton, Secretary, Board of Ministry and Training, diocese of Bradford, and an Honorary Canon of Bradford Cathedral, to be Area Bishop of Kingston, diocese of Southwark, in succession to the Right Rev Peter Selby.

Professor David McClean, to be Deputy Chancellor of the diocese of Sheffield.

Sister Margaret Lucking, Church Army, of Christ Church, Roxeth (London), to retire as from 30 September.

The Rev David Austerberry, Rector, Kinnerley with Melverley and Knockin with Measbrook: to be also Rural Dean of Oswestry (Lichfield).

The Rev Dennis Brett, Priest-in-charge, Bishopstrow and Boreham: to be also Chaplain, Warminster Hospital (Salisbury).

The Rev Kenneth Bromage, non-stipendiary Minister, Woolpit with Drinkstone (St Edmundsbury and Ipswich): to be Royal Navy Chaplain.

The Rev Michael Burke, Assistant Curate, St James, Anston: to be Vicar, St Columba, Crosspool (Sheffield).

The Rev John Casselton, Vicar, St John's, Ipswich, and Rural Dean of Ipswich: to be Chaplain, St Clements Hospital and St Elizabeth Hospice, Ipswich (St Edmundsbury and Ipswich).

The Rev Douglas Cockbill, Priest-in-charge, St Andrew, Roxbourne: to be Vicar, St Andrew, Roxbourne (London).

The Rev Robert Daborn, Priest-in-charge, Tibberton with Bolas Magna and Waters Upton: to be also Priest-in-charge, Childs Ercall and Stoke on Tern, held in plurality (Lichfield).

The Rev Timothy Daykin, Vicar, Valley Park: to be Priest-in-charge, Fordingbridge (Winchester).

Canon Ian Dunlop, retired Canon Chancellor, Salisbury Cathedral: to be a Canon Emeritus of Salisbury Cathedral (Salisbury).

The Rev Nicholas Helm, Assistant Curate, Old Ford St Paul with St Stephen and St Mark (London): to be Team Vicar (Priest-in-charge designate), St Bartholomew's, Netherthorpe (Sheffield).

The Rev Nigel LLoyd, Rector, Lytchett Matravers: to be Team Rector, Parkstone St Peter with Branksea and St Osmund Team Ministry (Salisbury).

Canon Ronald Mitchinson, Diocesan Industrial Missioner (Oxford): to be Chaplain for the Selby Coalfield, and Team Vicar, Brayton Team Ministry (York).

The Ven Leonard Olyott, retiring as Archdeacon of Taunton: to be Archdeacon Emeritus of Taunton (Bath and Wells).

The Rev Michael Pain, Team Rector, Melksham Team Ministry: to be also Chaplain, Melksham Hospital (Salisbury).

The Rev Stephen Pickering, Chaplain, Royal Navy Hospital, Haslar: to be Priest-in-charge, new conventional district of St Nicholas, Ryecroft (Sheffield).

The Rev John Self, formerly Presbyter in charge, Khipro parish, Church of Pakistan (Hyderabad): to be Vicar, St. John the Evangelist, Sparkbrook (Birmingham).

Canon Michael Walker, Vicar, St Mary's, Bury St Edmunds: to be Vicar, Debenham with Aspall and Kenton (St Edmundsbury and Ipswich).

The Rev Christine Warrilow, Assistant Curate, St Oswald, Netherton: to be Parish Deacon, St Jude, Stockbridge Village (Liverpool).

Canon John Whettem, retired Team Rector, Swanborough Team Ministry: to be a Canon Emeritus of Salisbury Cathedral (Salisbury).


The Rev Reg Ames, Vicar, St Edmund the King, Northwood (London): to retire as from 31 August.

Canon Joseph Brooks, Chaplain, Ipswich Hospital (St Edmundsbury and Ipswich): to retire as from 4 November.

The Rev Dennis Cooper, Vicar, Norton (York): to retire later in the year.

Canon Keith Grain, Vicar, Gargrave (Bradford): retired as from 30 June.

The Rev Peter Grewcock, Vicar, Milborne St Andrew with Dewlish (Salisbury): to retire as from 31 July.

The Rev Halsey Hall, Rector, Headbourn Worthy, King's Worthy (Winchester): to retire, on health grounds, as from 30 September.

The Rev Michael Henly, Vicar, Bishop's Cannings, All Cannings and Etchilhampton (Salisbury): to retire as from 1 September.

Canon Graham Smith, Mission Priest, Upper Mitcham Group Ministry (Southwark): to retire as from 31 October.

Canon Charles Tompkins, Rector, St Mary, Handsworth (Birmingham): to resign as from 31 August.