Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following appointments have been announced by the Church of England:

Canon Jeffrey Watson, Vicar, Sitterne, and Rural Dean of Southampton, diocese Winchester: to be Archdeacon of Ely.

The Rev John Fletcher, Vicar, Holy Trinity, Margate, and Rural Dean of Thanet (Canterbury): to be Archbishop's Chaplain (at Lambeth Palace) as from 1 March 1993, succeeding Canon Graham James, who is to be Suffragan Bishop of St Germans, in the diocese of Truro.

The Rev Nicholas Ash, Assistant Curate, Hersham (Guildford): to be Priest-in-charge, Flookburgh (Carlisle).

The Rev Lewis Atkinson, Vicar, St Paul's, Wordsworth Avenue, Sheffield: to be Vicar, The Ascension Church, Oughtibridge (Sheffield).

The Rev David Barnes, Curate, Kinster-in-Sheppey, with special responsibility for St Peter's Halfway: to be Vicar, Ash, St Nicholas with Westmarsh (Canterbury).

The Rev Hugh Burton, Priest-in-charge, Packington with Normanton-le-Heath: to be Vicar, Packington with Normanton-le-Heath (Leicester).

The Rev Sally A. Chapman, Deacon, St Martins' Stoneydelph: to be Team Vicar, Short Heath Team Ministry (Lichfield).

The Rev Robert Clifton, Rector, Culford, West Stow, Wordwell, Flempton, Hengrave and Lackford: to be also Rural Dean of Thingoe (St Edmundsbury and Ipswich).

The Rev Helen Connoll, Assistant Chaplain at Grimsby District General Hospital (Lincoln): to be Chaplain of Kent and Canterbury Hospital.

The Rev Brian Davis, Vicar, Hinckley St Mary, Leicester: to be also Rural Dean of Sparkenhoe West (Leicester).

The Rev Roger Driver, Assistant Curate, St Peter, Woolton: to be Priest-in-charge, St Paul, Fazakerley (Liverpool).

The Rev Mark East, Assistant Curate, Daltonin-Furness (Carlisle): to be Team Vicar, Bucknell with Bagnall Team Ministry (Lichfield).

The Rev Peter Goldthorpe, Midlands Area Secretary, Church's Ministry Among the Jews: to be Vicar, Leaton and Albrighton with Battlefield (Lichfield).

The Rev Jonathan Gordon, Assistant Curate, St Michael's, Tilehurst (Oxford): to be Team Vicar, Stoke Team ministry, with special responsibility for All Saints, Hanley (Lichfield).

The Rev Frederick Harwood, Honorary Curate, Madron (Truro): to be Precentor of the Cathedral Church of the Holy Trinity (Europe).

The Rev Anthony Hogg, Priest-in-charge, Hanney, Denchworth, East Challow: to be Vicar, Hanney, Denchworth, East Challow (Oxford).

The Rev Martin Jewitt, Vicar, Parish of the Ascension, Balham Hill (Southwark): to be Rector, St Agnes, North Reddish (Manchester).

The Rev Grahame Jones, Parish Evangelist, Skellingthorpe (Lincoln): to be Parish Evangelist, Booker, High Wycombe (Oxford).

The Rev George Moffat, Vicar, St Mary the Virgin, South Elmsall: to be Team Rector, Brighouse (Wakefield).

The Rev Richard Newton, Assistant Curate, Stockwood (Bristol): to be Assistant Curate, St Martin, Dorking, with St Barnabas, Ranmore, with responsibility for Pixham Church (Guildford).

The Rev Dr Daniel O'Connor, Director of Scottish Churches House and former Principal of the College of the Ascension, Selly Oak: to be Residentiary Canon of Wakefield Cathedral and Bishop's Adviser on Interfaith issues (Wakefield).

Canon Andy Radford, Diocesan Communications Officer, diocese Gloucester, and Religious Programmes Presenter at Severn Sound Radio: to be Development and Training Officer, Communications Unit, Church House, Westminster.

The Rev John Rendall: to continue as Rural Dean of New Ainsty (York) for a further period of five years.

The Rev Dr Jeremy Sheey, Vicar, Leytonstone, St Margaret: to be also Priest-in-charge, Leytonstone, St Andrew (Chelmsford).

The Rev Gordon Small, Assistant Curate, Matlock Bath (Derby): to be Team Vicar, Bucknall and Bagnall (Lichfield).

The Rev Humphrey Southern, Vicar, Hale: to be also Diocesan Ecumenical Officer (Guildford).

The Rev Mark Stibbe, Assistant Curate, St Thomas, Crooked, Sheffield: to be Vicar, St Mark's, Grenoside (Sheffield).


The Rev Frank Ball, Chaplain to Shrewsbury Hospital, Sheffield (Sheffield): to retire as from 31 December.

The Right Rev William Franklin, Honorary Assistant Bishop, diocese Canterbury: to resign (due to ill-health) as from 31 December and to have permission to officiate in the Sandwich deanery (Canterbury).

The Rev Margaret Sherwin, Parish Deacon, St Michael Highgate (London): to retire as from 31 December.