Awards for journalism

Click to follow
The Independent Online
MARK ROSSITER, editor of the Warrington Guardian, has been named Journalist of the Year in the British Press Awards, organised by UK Press Gazette, journalism's newspaper, and sponsored by the Press Association, the national news agency.

The other awards were:

Reporter of the Year: Tina Weaver, Today. Highly commended: Maggie O'Kane, the Guardian. Foreign Journalist of the Year: Shyam Bhatia the Observer. Highly commended: Daniel McGrory, Daily Express. Foreign Stringer of the Year: Anthony Loyd, the Times. Highly commended: Charlotte Eagar, the Observer. Regional Journalist of the Year: Helen Weathers, Wales on Sunday. Highly commended: Peter Rhodes, Wolverhampton Express and Star. Sports Journalist of the Year: Harry Harris, Daily Mirror. Highly commended: Patrick Collins, Mail on Sunday. Young Journalist of the Year: Esther Oxford, the Independent. Highly commended: Jane Warren, Daily Express, and Sarah Chalmers, the Scotsman. Feature Writer of the Year: Fiammetta Rocco, Independent on Sunday. Highly commended: Ajay Close, Scotland on Sunday, and Nicholas Davies, the Guardian. Columnist of the Year: Matthew Parris, the Times. Highly commended: Peter McKay, Evening Standard. Arts and Leisure Journalist: Brian Sewell, Evening Standard. Highly commended: Richard Morrison, the Times. Exclusive of the Year: the Observer. Highly commended: Independent on Sunday and Financial Times. Image of the Year: Mike Boden, Warrington Guardian. Highly commended: Dylan Martinez, Reuters, and Andre Camara, Reuters. Team Journalism: Warrington Guardian. Highly commended: Daily Record. Regional Newspaper of the Year: Evening Times, Glasgow. National Newspaper of the Year: Daily Telegraph. Chairman's Awards: Chris Moncrieff, political editor, the Press Association; Kelvin MacKenzie, former editor, the Sun.