Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.


Champions Trophy: Denesh Ramdin charged after 'catch' drops him in it


West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been charged after allegedly claiming a dropped catch in Friday's Champions Trophy match against Pakistan.

During the Group B encounter at the Kia Oval, which the West Indies won by two wickets, Ramdin appeared to claim a catch he had dropped off Pakistan captain Misbah ul-Haq when the batsman was on nought. The Trinidadian has been charged with breaching Article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game".

The 28-year-old has pleaded not guilty and a hearing will take place in London tomorrow, with the range of penalties including a fine of 50 to 100 per cent of the player's match fee or a suspension of up to two ODI matches.

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo supported his team-mate: "Denesh honestly thought he had full control of the ball but the umpire by rights had another look at it. West Indians do not play the game like that. History shows that we have never had anything negative like that against us, unlike some other teams. We play in a true spirit, the way it should be, and he did not do anything deliberately. He is an honest player."