Ballon d'Or 2014: Joachim Low wins Coach of they Year ahead of Diego Simeone and Carlo Ancelotti

The three were short listed for the award

Click to follow

Germany manager Joachim Loew has won the award for Coach of the Year during the ceremony for the Ballon d'Or award.

The World Cup winning coach beat Ateltico Madrid's Diego Simeone and Carlo Ancelotti of Real Madrid to the accolade.

LIVE: Ballon d'Or live updates
Messi: 'I don't know where I'll be next year'
Ronaldo reveals he would like to play with Messi

The three managers all enjoyed considerable success with their respective teams.

Loew guided Germany to the World Cup with a brand of football that was as exciting as it was effective. Whilst it was Argentina they beat in the final to lift the trophy, it was their 7-1 win over hosts Brazil that will be best remembered. That stand-out match from a brilliant tournament was a master-class in finishing and ruthlessness, something Loew can take credit for.

Head coach Joachim Loew


Ancelotti led Real Madrid to La Decima - a tenth European title for the Spanish club. Many managers had tried before him and failed, but with a team comprising Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale, Ancelotti was able to end Los Blancos' long wait for the Champions League and give the fans what they had so desperately wanted. The former Chelsea and AC Milan manager also guided his team to the domestic cup in Spain.

Diego Simeone and Carlo Ancelotti


Atletico Madrid won La Liga against all the odds and it is Simeone who has taken much of the credit. Barcelona and Real Madrid, so wealthy and powerful in comparison to the capital based side, tend to share the league title in Spain between them but goals from Diego Costa inspired Atletico to to the top of the table - a position that was retained on the last day of the season with a draw away against Barcelona.

Simeone ended up third in the voting for Coach of the Year. Low garnered 36.23 per cent of votes,  Ancelotti 22.06 per cent and Simeone - 19.02 per cent.

Wolfsburg's Ralf Kellerman won the Coach of the year award for the women's game