Six countries will bid to host 2018 Ryder Cup

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Six countries – France, Germany, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden – will bid to host the 2018 Ryder Cup.

The bid deadline is next April, with the result expected in 2011. Celtic Manor in Wales plays host next year, and in 2014 the venue is Gleneagles in Scotland. But when both were chosen it was decided that the European home match would return to the Continent if suitable venues could be found.

Valderrama in Spain staged the event in 1997, the only time it has gone to the Continent.