Tony McCoy 4,000: A timeline of his career highlights


Click to follow
The Independent Online

1995: Collects 78 wins in his first full professional season.

1996: Is crowned Champion Jockey for the first time, with 175 victories

2002: Passes Sir Gordon Richards’s 1947 record of 269 winners while securing a new British record of 289 wins a single season.

2002: Becomes the most successful jump jokey of all time after beating Richard Dunwoody’s record of 1,699 victories.

2004: Wins his ninth Champion Jokey title.

2010: Eventually wins Grand National after fifteen failed attempts.

2010: As a result he is voted BBC Sports Personality of the Year, the first ever jockey to be awarded with the prize.

2011: Awarded an OBE from the Queen in recognition of his services to Horse Racing.

2013: Becomes Champion Jockey for the eighteenth consecutive year.

Major racing wins:

Grand National, Gold Cup, Champion Chase, Champion Hurdle, King George, Ryanair Chase, RSA Chase, Tingle Creek, Arkle, Welsh Grand National, Scottish Grand National, Midlands Grand National, Irish Grand National, Lexus Chase, Galway Plate

Racing highlights:

Distance: 1,000

Horse: Majadou

Track: Cheltenham

Date: Dec 1999


Distance: 1,500

Horse: Celtic Native

Track: Exeter

Date: Dec 2001


Distance: 2,000

Horse: Magical Bailiwick

Track: Wincanton

Date: Jan 2004


Distance: 3,000

Horse: Restless D’Artaix

Track: Plumpton

Date: Feb 2009


Grand National

Horse: Don’t Push It

Track: Aintree

Date: April 2010