David Nalbandian will compete at Wimbledon despite shadow of Queen's incident
Tuesday 19 June 2012
David Nalbandian insists he will not pull out of Wimbledon despite his costly antics at Queen's Club on Sunday.
Police confirmed yesterday that they are investigating a complaint of alleged assault against Nalbandian after he kicked an advertising hoarding in to the leg of a line judge during his AEGON Championships final against Marin Cilic.
Nalbandian was disqualified for the kick, losing his £36,500 prize money in the process, and the ATP confirmed last night that the player had also been fined 10,000 euros (£6,400) - the maximum under tour rules - for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Yet despite the furore surrounding the incident, Nalbandian is determined to return to England next week to play at Wimbledon, where he reached the final 10 years ago.
The Argentine's representative Bernado Ballero told Press Association Sport: "I can confirm to you that David's thoughts are about playing at Wimbledon."
The confirmation of Nalbandian's fine came yesterday evening, with an ATP spokeswoman saying: "Nalbandian automatically forfeited his prize money and ranking points due to his conduct default.
"A maximum 10,000 euro fine also was issued onsite by the ATP Supervisor for unsportsmanlike conduct."
Earlier in the day police revealed they had received a complaint about Nalbandian's kick, which caused the plywood board in front of Andrew McDougall's chair to cut an inch-long gash in to the line judge's leg.
A Scotland Yard spokesman said: "We are aware of an incident at the AEGON Championships on June 17.
"A complaint has been made and the Metropolitan Police Service is now investigating.
"The allegation is of assault."
The 30-year-old former world number three was contrite about his actions in the press conference that followed his win, admitting he felt "very sorry" for unintentionally injuring McDougall, who needed treatment on the cut.
The player also released a statement, which read: "I am sorry and I regret the kick that unintentionally hurt the line judge.
"I never intended to hit him, it was an unfortunate reaction in which I wanted to relieve the loss of a point.
"I had the opportunity to apologise personally with the line judge for this regrettable event."
Cristiano Ronaldo applauded by Liverpool fans after master-class for Real Madrid, despite Manchester United ties
Angel Di Maria injury latest: Argentina international set to play in Manchester United vs Chelsea match
Real Madrid vs Barcelona: Cristiano Ronaldo says he is playing Barca - not just Lionel Messi - in El Clasico
Paul Scholes column: I'm not worried about Manchester United's defence - Chelsea test can be the making of Phil Jones and Marcos Rojo
Erik Lamela goal: Best tweets and reaction to Tottenham man's Rabona
- 1 This 'woman calls police to order pizza' story isn't going where you're expecting
- 2 Axe wielding man shot dead after attacking four New York policemen on busy street
- 3 Watch what happened when food critics were unknowingly served McDonald's
- 4 Jimmy Carr's Oscar Pistorius joke goes a bit too far at the Q Awards
- 5 Ottawa shootings: Bruce MacKinnon's cartoon is the perfect tribute to soldier Nathan Cirillo
Of course, teenage girls need role models – but not like beauty vlogger Zoella
Cameron is warned 'no possibility' of UK reducing immigration and that bid to bring in quota on migrant workers would be illegal
Support for EU membership 'at highest level since 1991' with most Brits wanting to stay 'in'
Thousands with degenerative conditions classified as 'fit to work in future' – despite no possibility of improvement
Attacks on 'Ukip Calypso' show how skewed people’s priorities are
London bus driver 'kicks gay couple off for kissing'