Robinson’s 'Home,' O'Neill's 'Netherland' make IMPAC prize shortlist

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the world's most valuable literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English, announced its 2010 shortlist on April 12. The eight shortlisted titles include Marilynne Robinson's Orange Prize winner Home and Joseph O'Neill's post-9/11 novel Netherland, which previously won a PEN/Faulkner Prize.

The IMPAC award is open to all novels published in English or English translation two years prior to the prize year. Translated titles chosen for the 2010 shortlist include The Twin, the debut novel of Dutch author Gerbrand Bakker, German writer Christoph Hein's The Settlement, and French author Muriel Barbery's The Elegance of the Hedgehog. UK authors include Robert Edric, Zoe Heller, and Ross Raisin, while Joseph O'Neill hails from Ireland and Marilynne Robinson from the US.

2010 IMPAC shortlist:

The Believers by Zoe Heller (UK)
The Elegance Of The Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (France)
God's Own Country by Ross Raisin (UK)
Home by Marilynne Robinson (US)
In Zodiac Light by Robert Edric (UK)
Netherland by Joseph O'Neill (Ireland)
Settlement by Christoph Hein (Germany)
The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker (Netherlands)

One hundred fifty-six titles nominated by 163 libraries in 123 cities worldwide made the 2010 longlist. The 2009 IMPAC winner was American author Michael Thomas for his debut novel Man Gone Down. The winner of thr 2010 prize, who will take home more €100,000, is due to be announced in June.