Church Appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Culture
The following appointments have been announced by the Church of England:

The Rev Brian Anderson, Rector, St Breoke and Egloshayle in Wadebridge, and Rural Dean of Trigg Minor and Bodmin (Truro): to be Prebendary of St Endellion (same diocese).

The Rev Christopher Collingwood, formerly Canon Residentiary and Precentor of Guildford Cathedral (Guildford): has been appointed Chaplain, Chigwell School (Chelmsford).

The Rev Philip Cunningham, NSM Assistant Curate, York St Olave with St Giles, and teacher, Minster School (York): to be Team Vicar, Haxby with Wigginton (same diocese).

The Rev Francis Daborn, Priest-in-Charge, Tibberton with Bolas Magna and Waters Upton, and Local Ministry Adviser (Lichfield): to be Director of Local Ministry including Principal of the Local Ministry Training Course (same diocese).

The Rev Peter Evans, Vicar, Croydon, Woodside St Luke (Southwark): to be Team Vicar, Sanderstead All Saints (same diocese).

Prebendary Tim Gouldstone, Director of Lay Training, and Priest-in-Charge, Lamorran and Merther and St Michael Penkevil, and Rural Dean of Powder (Truro): to be Honorary Canon of Truro Cathedral, ceasing to be Prebendary of St Endellion (same diocese).

The Rev Martyn Green, Vicar, Ossett cum Gawthorpe (Wakefield): to be Team Rector, Haxby with Wigginton (York).

The Rev Stefanie Hodges, Assistant Curate, Croydon Christ Church (Southwark): to be Assistant Curate, Sutton St Nicholas (same diocese).

The Rev Brian Hyder-Smith, Curate, Whittlesey, Pondersbridge and Coates (Ely): to be Team Vicar, same benefice.

The Rev Alan Isaacson, Curate, Kimberworth St Thomas (Sheffield): to be Team Vicar, Brinsworth with Catcliffe and St Mary with Treeton (same diocese).

The Rev Rosalind Lane, Assistant Curate Huddersfield St Peter and All Saints and susbstitute Chaplain, HMP New Hall (Wakefield): to be Assistant Chaplain, HMP Doncaster (Sheffield).

The Rev Alan Middleton, Vicar, Upper Norwood All Saints (Southwark): to be Team Rector, Warlingham, and continuing as Croydon Archdeaconry Ecumenical Adviser (same diocese).

The Rev David Moore, Vicar, Ham St Andrew (Southwark): to be Priest-in- Charge, Rothbury (Newcastle).

The Rev Margaret Moore, Team Vicar, Great Baddow with special responsibility for St Paul (Chelmsford): to be Priest-in-Charge, Woodham Mortimer with Hazeleigh and Woodham Walter (same diocese).

The Rev David Morphy, Deputy Headmaster, Stourport High School, and Honorary Curate, Ribbesford with Bewdley and Dowles (Worcester): to be Diocesan Director of Education (same diocese).

The Rev Kenneth Reeves, permission to officiate (Norwich): to be part- time Priest-in-Charge, Lakenham St Mark with Trowse (same diocese).

The Rev John Richardson, Chaplain, University of East London and Honorary Curate, Stratford St John and Christ Church and St James (Chelmsford): to be full-time stipendiary curate of the same benefice.

The Rev Janice Scott, Curate, Eaton (Norwich): to be Priest-in-Charge, Pulham Market, Pulham St Mary, and Starston, Dickleburgh with Langmere and Shimpling, Thelveton with Frenze and Rushall (same diocese).

The Rev Maurice Slattery, NSM, Niton St Lawrence and Whitwell (Portsmouth): to be Honorary Curate, Selsdon St John with St Francis (with special responsibility for Selsdon St Francis) (Southwark).

The Rev Sue Strutt, Team Vicar, Ledbury (Hereford): to be also Adviser on Women in Ministry (same diocese).

The Rev Martin Webster, Vicar, Nazeing All Saints with St Giles, and Rural Dean of Harlow (Chelmsford): to be Team Rector, Waltham Holy Cross (same diocese).

The Rev Dr Adrian Youings, Assistant Curate, Dorking St Paul (Guildford): to be Senior Curate, South Croydon Emmanuel (Southwark).


The Revd Peter Beech, Vicar, Latton St Mary (Chelmsford): to retire 30 April.

The Rev John Fearn, Christian Giving Adviser (Hereford): retired 2 March .

The Rev Philip Mortimer SSC, Vicar, Staincliffe Christ Church (Wakefield): to retire 30 June.

The Rev Mary Somervell, NSM, Loppington with Newtown (Lichfield): to retire 15 May.