Beastie Boys, Bon Jovi, Alice Cooper up for Rock Hall of Fame

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

On Tuesday, September 28, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation announced an eclectic list of 15 nominees for the 2011 induction. Potential Hall of Famers include the Beastie Boys, LL Cool J, Bon Jovi, Tom Waits, and Neil Diamond.

Also joining the list are disco singer Donna Summer, heavy metal's Alice Cooper, soul performer Joe Tex, folk legends Donovan and Laura Nyro, New Orleans musician Dr. John, and rockers J. Geils Band, among others. This year's nominations are the first for New Jersey's Bon Jovi, Diamond, Donovan, and Dr. John.

For the last 25 years, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, based in Cleveland, Ohio, has honored the most influential international figures in the music industry. In addition to a black-tie event to celebrate the inductees, the Hall of Fame archives the history of some of the best-known artists, producers, and professionals who have influenced the music industry, particularly rock music, in its museum in Cleveland. Hall of Famers include Janis Joplin, the Beatles, the Bee Gees, U2, and the Rolling Stones.

The foundation inducted its first group of artists on January 23, 1986 - that year James Brown, Elvis Presley, Fats Domino, and Buddy Holly were honored. Last year's group of inductees included ABBA, Genesis, Otis Blackwell, and the Hollies.

Musicians become elible for nomination into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first rock album or single. More than 500 industry professionals vote on the nominations.