Bob Dylan to release new 'Bootleg Series' recording

Click to follow
The Independent Culture

Bob Dylan is set to release the ninth volume of his Bootleg Series on October 19, announced Columbia Records on August 24. The Witmark Demos features more than 40 tracks Dylan recorded between 1962 and 1964 and never commercially released.

The two-disc collection, named for one of Dylan's first publishers, includes early versions of future classics such as "Blowin' in the Wind," "A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall," and "The Times They Are A-Changin'," as well as 15 songs recorded exclusively for the sessions, including "Ballad For A Friend," "Long Ago, Far Away," "The Death Of Emmett Till," and "Guess I'm Doing Fine, none of which have yet been officially released to the general public. All of the songs were written and recorded before Dylan turned 24.

Liner notes by music historian Colin Escott and rare photographs of Dylan from the same period will be included with the collection.

The Bootleg Series launched in 1991 with the release of three volumes that reached #49 on the US Billboard chart. Subsequent installments went on to make album charts in both the US and UK; among them, volume 4 reached 19 in the UK, and volume 8, released in 1998, opened at number six on the US Billboard 200 chart.

Also on October 19, Columbia/Legacy will release Bob Dylan - The Original Mono Recordings, a box set of Dylan's first eight LPs, newly mastered and on CD for the first time, from 1962's Bob Dylan through 1968's John Wesley Harding.