Ivor Novellos 2014 winners list: Mumford and Sons and Tom Odell take home awards

Other triumphs include James Blake and Fleetwood Mac's Christine McVie

Folk-pop group Mumford and Sons have won a prestigious Ivor Novello for International Achievement, with Tom Odell awarded Songwriter of the Year.

The 59th ceremony took place at London’s Grosvenor House on Thursday night, with fourteen statuettes presented (see below for winners list) to celebrate and reward excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing.

Marcus Mumford, Ted Dwane, Ben Lovett and Winston Marshall formed Mumford and Sons in 2007 and emerged from the West London scene at the same time as Laura Marling and Noah and the Whale.

Their debut album, Sigh No More, received worldwide acclaim upon its release in 2009 while follow-up, Babel, won Album of the Year at the Grammys.

Other Ivor Novello winners yesterday evening included Jeff Beck for Outstanding Contribution  to British Music, James Blake for Best Contemporary Song and Fleetwood Mac’s Christine McVie for Lifetime Achievement.

Winners list in full

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

"Let Her Go" written by Mike Rosenberg

The Ivors Classical Music Award

John McCabe

Best Television Soundtrack

Ripper Street, composed by Dominik Scherrer

Best Contemporary Song

"Retrograde" by James Blake   

International Achievement

Ed Dwane, Ben Lovett, Winston Marshall and Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons)

Best Original Film Score

The Epic of Everest, composed by Simon Fisher Turner

The Ivors Inspiration Award

Jerry Dammers

Album Award

Push the Sky Away by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Jeff Beck

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

"Strong" by Dominic Major, Hannah Reid and Daniel Rothman

Songwriter of the Year

Tom Odell

Outstanding Song Collection

Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons (The Chemical Brothers)

Lifetime Achievement

Christine McVie

PRS for Music Special International Award

Nile Rodgers