Muse announce tour dates and new album Drones as fans mock concept cover art

The new album will be released on 8 June

Click to follow

Muse have revealed details of their new single, album and six UK tour dates.

The band will release their new album Drones on 8 June, and will tour the UK next week to promote the record.

Muse will kick off their tour on 15 March at Belfast Ulster Hall, then perform in Glasgow, Newport, Exeter and Manchester before finishing with a show in Brighton.

The cover art for Muse's new album Drones

Speaking about the concept behind the band’s new album, front man Matt Bellamy said: “The world is run by drones utilising drones to turn us all into drones. To me, drones are metaphorical psychopaths.

“This album explores the journey of a human, from their abandonment and loss of hope, to their indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to their eventual defection from their oppressors.”

But not all fans were as taken in as the album’s concept cover art as Bellamy might have hoped.

The band also revealed they will release the first single from Drones, “Dead Inside”, on 23 March.

Muse tour dates

15 March - Belfast Ulster Hall

16 March - Glasgow Barrowlands

19 March - Newport Centre

20 March - Exeter Great Hall

22 March - Manchester Academy

23 March - Brighton Dome