The XX announce new album I See You, release first single 'On Hold'

The follow up to Coexist will be here in January

Click to follow

The XX have finally revealed details regarding their third studio album, including release date, tracklisting, and first single.

I See You will consist of ten tracks and reach record stores 13 January 2017, while the first single, “On Hold”, is already streaming on Spotify.

The record, the band’s first since 2012’s Coexist, was recorded between March 201 and August 2016 in the likes of New York, Texas, Reykjavik, Los Angeles and London.

Jamie Smith, better known as Jamie XX, produced the record with Rodaidh McDonald. Between Coexist and I See You, the producer released the critically acclaimed record In Colour, also through record company Young Turks. 

According to the band, the new record will be “more outward-looking, open and expansive”. 

I See You tracklisting

1. ‘Dangerous’

2. ‘Say Something Loving’

3. ‘Lips’

4. ‘A Violent Noise’

5. ‘Performance’

6. ‘Replica’

7. ‘Brave For You’

8. ‘On Hold’

9. ‘I Dare You’

10. ‘Test Me’

Earlier this year, the band teased their third album with a playlist titled 'the xx: in the studio’ which featured music from Frank Ocean, Solange, and Radiohead.