Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.


Newspaper Society

Mr Charles Brims, President of the Newspaper Society, Chief Executive of Portsmouth & Sunderland Newspapers, hosted a breakfast yesterday in honour of the Lord Chancellor, Lord Irving of Lairg QC, at Bloomsbury House, London WC1. Among those present were:

Mr Guy Black; Mr Robin Burgess; Mr Nick Carter; Mr Alec Davidson; Mr James Evans; Mr Lynne Gardiner; Mr Philip Graf; Sir Nicholas Hewitt Bt; Mr Hubert J. Hirst; Mr Fred Johnston; Mr Ian Locks; Mr David Newell; Mr Chris Oakley; Mr Keith Parker; Mr Allan Percival; Mr Santha Rasaiah; Mr John Robertson; Ms Jenny Rowe; Mr Bob Satchwell; Mr Peter Strong.