Vogue editor Anna Wintour raised over $500,000 for Barack Obama / Getty Images

Legendary Vogue editor will be given the Outstanding Achievement Award at the 2014 British Fashion Awards

The British Fashion Council has announced today that Anna Wintour is to be honoured at the British Fashion Awards next month.

The British fashion editor is currently Editor-in-Chief of American Vogue and Artistic Director of Conde Nast.

She will be honoured with the Outstanding Achievement Award for her contribution to the fashion industry at the London ceremony which takes place next month.

Previous winners include Terry and Tricia Jones, Manolo Blahnik, Paul Smith, Alexander McQueen and Joan Burstein.

Wintour began her career in London at Harpers & Queen magazine in 1970, in 1983 she moved to the US as Creative Director of American Vogue. After a brief stint back in the UK as Editor in Chief of British Vogue she rejoined the American magazine in 1988 and has remained since in her current position.

It's not only her work in the world of fashion that has made her iconic bobbed hairdo a legendary presence on front rows across the world that is being honoured her charity work is too, including her involvement in the founding of the CFDA, the fashion industry's AIDS charity and her work with the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Commenting on Wintour's award Sarah Burton, Creative Director of Alexander McQueen said:

"Anna has such an influential hand in fashion, she cares about, and pioneers creativity. Her love and contribution to British fashion is truly outstanding and I am ever grateful for all the support she has given me.”

Christopher Kane also praised the editor:

"Anna Wintour is awe-inspiring; her dedication and passion to the fashion industry, her work ethic, and her unwavering support of young talent are truly unique. I owe so much to Anna for believing in me since the very beginning; without her loyal support and friendship over the past 10 years I would not be where I am today.”

The British Fashion Awards takes place on 1st December at the London Coliseum.