Sony to stream Gamescom coverage via Facebook, phone, more

Out of the three big console manufacturers, Sony has the stage to itself at Gamescom and will broadcast its August 16 press conference live on Facebook, the PlayStation Blog site, a PlayStation mobile app, and the PlayStation 3.

The launch of Sony's shiny new PlayStation Vita draws nearer and nearer, and though the handheld won't debut outside of Japan until 2012, there are a number of titles that can be shown off.

Microsoft has opted for a hands-on Play Day instead, while Nintendo is once again conspicuous in its absence.

Vita versions of Uncharted, LittleBigPlanet, Wipeout, Killzone, and Resistance have already been confirmed, and no doubt Sony will want to reassure that its machine can both see off the Nintendo 3DS and survive alongside the iPhone.

PlayStation 3 owners can look forward to footage of Uncharted 3 and Resistance 3 for certain, and likely Child of Eden (Move edition), Ratchet & Clank: All 4 One, Starhawk, and The Ico & Shadow of the Colossus Collection.

If there's to be a PS3 price cut, Gamescom would make for a good venue to announce it.

More on The Last Guardian and various Final Fantasy projects would be most welcome, but it's probable that they will be saved for the Tokyo Game Show in September.

The conference starts at 7pm local time in Cologne, Germany, on Tuesday, August 16. That's 6pm BST (London), 1pm EDT (New York), and 10am PDT (Los Angeles).

Devoted fans on the other side of the world would need to stay up until the early hours (1am Singapore, 2am in Tokyo, 3am in Syndey), or simply watch the ensuing YouTube upload at a more reasonable hour.

Watch on the PlayStation Blog: http://blog.eu.playstation.com
Watch on Facebook: facebook.com/SonyPlaystation?sk=app_258124084214355
PlayStation iPhone app: itunes.apple.com/gb/app/id410896080
PlayStation Android app: market.android.com/details?id=com.scee.psxandroid
Watch on PlayStation 3 via PlayStation Home

Comments