World Car of the Year finalists named

Click to follow
Indy Lifestyle Online

The ten finalists for the World Car of the Year Award were unveiled February 1, with jurors selecting a nearly all-European lineup.

The winner of the prestigious award, which is handed out at the New York International Auto Show in April, is selected by a jury of 66 international automotive journalists from Asia, Europe, North America, South America, as well as other parts of the world - although they clearly feel that European cars were the strongest contenders this year.

Only one US brand (Jeep) was included in the top ten list, along with one Japanese brand (Nissan), while all of the others come from well-known European names.

The full list is available below and will be whittled down to three at the Geneva International Motor Show on March 1.

Previous winners include the Volkswagen Polo in 2010, the Volkswagen Golf in 2009, the Mazda2 / Mazda Demio in 2008, the Lexus LS460 in 2007, the BMW 3-Series in 2006, and the Audi A6 in 2005.

The 2011 World Car of the Year will be selected from the following top ten cars listed in alphabetical order:

- Audi A1
- Audi A8
- BMW 5 Series
- BMW X3
- Jaguar XJ
- Jeep Grand Cherokee
- Mercedes-Benz SLS
- Nissan LEAF
- Porsche Cayenne
- Volvo S60 / V60

Search for used cars