Hockey: Reid keeps Chinese at bay

Click to follow
ENGLAND will this evening play Scotland for 9/10th place in the World Cup here, following their wins in yesterday's cross-over games.

Two goals from Jane Sixsmith and one from Purdy Miller were enough to ensure a 3-0 victory over China in a game in which England took their chances and the Chinese, who created far more opportunities, came up against Carolyn Reid in the English goal.

England, with Karen Brown moving forward at the faintest of excuses, created a number of chances in the opening minutes including two penalty corners, but it was a careless clearance from China's Seon Hwa Lee in the 14th minute that paved the way for the opening goal. Her clearance was intercepted by Jane Smith, who put Sixsmith away for the kill.

After a series of outstanding saves by Reid, England increased their lead five minutes before the interval at their third penalty corner, Miller deflecting the ball into the net after a clever switch. Sixsmith, with her second goal in the the 22nd minute, put the game beyond doubt.

Scotland conceded an early goal against India before winning 5-3 in a game in which they had the edge with the front running of Sue MacDonald and Rhona Simpson proving too much.

Both scored, along with the captain Pauline Robertson, who dominated the midfield. Scotland's first goal came from Susan Gilmour, with Alison Grant completing the scoring.

Canada will be without their veteran defender Alan Brahmst when they play England this morning. He has been suspended for unsportsman-like behaviour.

ENGLAND: C Reid (Hightown); J Empson (Canterbury), K Brown (Slough), M Clewlow (Canterbury), J Mould (Leicester); L Wright (Olton), K Bowden (capt, Leicester), J Bimson (Loughborough Students); J Sixsmith (Sutton Coldfield), P Miller (Leicester), J Smith (Slough). Substitutes used: S Blanks (Leicester), L Copeland (Slough), K Moore (Olton), F Greenham (Olton).

SCOTLAND: T Robb (Glasgow Western); V Neil (Edinburgh); S Fraser (Bonagrass Grove), F Pearson (Edinburgh), C Corcoran (Edinburgh); H Walker (Glasgow Western), D Renilson (Edinburgh), L Burton (Edinburgh); P Robertson (capt, Bonagrass Grove), S MacDonald (Slough), R Simpson (Edinburgh). Substitutes used: A Denholm (Glasgow Western), A Grant (Edinburgh), S Gilmour (HGC Netherlands).