Award for Yasmin Alibhai-Brown

Independent journalist Yasmin Alibhai-Brown was named Columnist of the Year last night at the Asian Voice Political and Public Life Awards 2011.

Other awards handed out at the Houses of Parliament went to Labour leader Ed Miliband, who was named Parliamentarian of the Year, Michael Gove as Cabinet Minister of the Year and Arjun Rajyagor, the winner of last year's Junior Apprentice, was awarded Face of Future.