Hunt names 20 local TV areas

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Twenty cities likely to launch local TV services have been named by Jeremy Hunt, the Culture Secretary.

The aim is to create commercially viable stations carrying locally made programmes and news.

The first areas will be Belfast, Birmingham, Brighton and Hove, Bristol, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Grimsby, Leeds, Liverpool, London, Manchester, Newcastle, Norwich, Nottingham, Oxford, Plymouth, Preston, Southampton and Swansea.