Click to follow
The Independent Online
Dr Baruch Blumberg, Master of Balliol College, Oxford, 69; Sir Grahame Clark, archaeologist and former Master of Peterhouse, Cambridge, 87; Professor Brian Clarkson, Principal, University College of Swansea, 64; Professor Sir Frederick Crawford, Vice-Chancellor, Aston University, 63; Professor Robert Curran, pathologist, 73; Sir Horace Cutler, former leader of the GLC, 82; Sir Kenneth Durham, former chairman, Kingfisher, 70; Mr Ian Grant, chairman, Scottish Tourist Board, 51; Sir Peter Green, former chairman, Lloyd's, 70; Mr Robert Henderson, former chairman, Ulster TV, 65; Mr Keith Hill MP, 51; Sir Maurice Holmes, barrister and former chairman, London Transport, 83; Air Marshal Sir Richard Johns, Chief of Staff and Deputy Commander-in- Chief, Strike Command and UK Air Forces, 55; Mr Brian Johnson, Chief Constable of Lancashire, 62; Sir Russell Johnston MP, 62; Mr Ian McCaskill, television weatherman, 56; Dame Rosemary Murray, former Vice- Chancellor, Cambridge University, 81; Mr Riccardo Muti, conductor, 53; Sir David Naish, president, National Farmers' Union, 54; Mr David Pearson, former deputy chairman, Robert Fleming Holdings, 63; Professor Sir Karl Popper, philosopher, 92; Judge Malcolm Potter, circuit judge, 62; Sir Garfield Sobers, cricketer, 58; Miss Prunella Stack, president, Women's League of Health and Beauty, 80; Mr Murray Stuart, chairman, Scottish Power, 61.