Click to follow
The Independent Online
TODAY: Professor Ingrid Allen, neuropathologist, 62; Mr Paul Anka, composer and singer, 53; Mr Peter Bogdanovich, film director, 55; Mr Peter Bottomley MP, 50; Miss Kate Bush, singer and songwriter, 36; Miss Teresa Cahill, opera singer, 50; Mr Meredith Davies, conductor, 72; Miss Frances de la Tour, actress, 50; Mr John Evans, former Headmaster, Brentwood School, 61; Sir Anthony Ewbank, High Court judge, 69; Mr Donald Fraser, artist, 65; The Earl of Glasgow (Patrick Boyle), television producer and director, 55; Professor Ian Gordon, Emeritus Professor of English Language and Literature, University of Wellington, 86; Miss Harriet Harman MP, 44; Mr Richard Johnson, actor and producer, 67; Lord Killanin, author, film producer and honorary life president, International Olympic Committee, 80; Miss Wyn Knowles, former Editor, BBC Woman's Hour, 71; Lord McCarthy, industrial relations consultant, 69; Professor Sir Laurence Martin, Director, Royal Institute of International Affairs, 66; Professor Anthony Mellows, Solicitor of the Supreme Court, 58; Sir Richard Powell, former senior civil servant, 85; Mrs Anne Ridler, author, 82; Sir Patrick Russell, a Lord Justice of Appeal, 68; Sir Kerry St Johnston, chairman, NM Funds Management Europe, 63; Sir Clive Sinclair, chairman, Sinclair Research, 54; Mr Stan Stennett, actor, 67; Mr Daley Thompson, athlete, 36; Sir Mathew Thorpe, High Court judge, 56; Dame Marjorie Williamson, former Principal, Royal Holloway College, 81; Vice-Admiral Sir Peter Woodhead, former Deputy Supreme Allied Commander Atlantic, 55.

TOMORROW: Mr Robert Balchin, chairman, Grant-Maintained Schools Foundation, 52; Miss Lynne Reid Banks, author, 65; Mr Steuart Bedford, conductor, 55; Mrs Evonne Cawley, tennis player, 43; Miss Geraldine Chaplin, actress, 50; Viscount Churchill, investment manager, 60; Mr Steve Cook, cricketer, 41; Sir Trenchard Cox, former Director, Victoria & Albert Museum, 89; Mr Brooke Crutchley, former Printer to Cambridge University, 87; Mr Jonathan Dimbleby, television and radio presenter, 50; Lord James Douglas-Hamilton MP, Under-Secretary of State, Scottish Office, 52; Sir John Dyson, High Court judge, 51; Professor Milton Friedman, monetarist authority, 82; Mr Frank Giles, former editor, the Sunday Times, 75; Mr Richard Greenbury, chairman and chief executive officer, Marks and Spencer, 58; Sir David Hirst, a Lord Justice of Appeal, 69; Mr Ralph Koltai, stage designer, 70; Miss Sherry Lansing, former president, 20th Century Fox, 50; Sir Charles McCullough, High Court judge, 63; Mr Alan Meale MP, 45; Miss Norma Negus, circuit judge, 62; Mr Peter Nichols, playwright, 67; Air Chief Marshal Sir Thomas Prickett, 81; Mr Anthony Scrivener QC, a Recorder of the Crown Court, 59; Professor Robert Steel, former Vice-Chancellor, University College of Swansea, 79; Lord Thomas of Gwydir QC, former government minister, 74; Mr Derek Thompson, television sports presenter, 44; Sir Geofroy Tory, former diplomat, 82.