Click to follow
The Independent Online
The Earl of Arran, Parliamentary- Under-Secretary of State for the Armed Forces, Ministry of Defence, 54; Miss Polly Bergen, actress, singer and cosmetics executive, 62; Mr Ingmar Bergman, film-maker, 74; Sir Alan Cockshaw, chairman, AMEC; Miss Vera Di Palma, accountant, 61; Air Chief Marshal Sir David Evans, military adviser to British Aerospace, 68; Sir Nigel Fisher, former MP, 79; Mr Gerald Ford, former US President, 79; Mr Leon Garfield, author, 71; Mr David Hardy, chairman, London Docklands Development Corporation, 62; Mr Illtyd Harrington, former leader of the GLC, 61; Air Chief Marshal Sir Patrick Hine, former Air Officer Commanding-in- Chief, RAF Strike Command and Commander-in-Chief, UK Air Forces, 60; Mr Robert Hughes MP, 41; Lord Hunter of Newington, former principal, Birmingham University, 77; The Earl of Iddesleigh, director, Television South West, 60; Miss Sue Lawley, television presenter, 46; Maj-Gen Cosmo Nevill, 85; Mr Bruce Oldfield, fashion designer, 42; Mr James Otis Purdy, novelist, 69; Lord Rees-Mogg, chairman, Broadcasting Standards Council, 64; Baroness Stedman, former SDP Chief Whip, House of Lords, 76; Mr Robert Stephens, actor, 61; Sir Richard Trehane, former chairman, Milk Marketing Board, 79; Professor Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson, chemist, 71.