TODAY: Dr Eric Anderson, Rector, Lincoln College, Oxford, 59; The Right Rev Simon Barrington-Ward, Bishop of Coventry, 65; Professor John Barth, author, 65; Admiral Sir Benjamin Bathurst, First Sea Lord and Chief of Naval Staff, 59; Mr Jeffrey Bernard, writer, 63; Miss Cilla Black, singer, 52; Earl Cairns, chief executive and deputy chairman, S.G. Warburg Group, 56; Mr Pat Cash, tennis player, 30; Field Marshal Sir John Chapple, Governor of Gibraltar, 64; Sir Anthony Colman, High Court judge, 57; Mr John Conteh, boxer, 44; Mr Bryan Cowgill, former deputy chairman, Mirror Group Newspapers, 68; Colonel Sir William Crawshay, Vice Lord-Lieutenant of Gwent, 75; Lord Erroll of Hale, former government minister, 81; Mr Roger Freeman MP, Minister of State for Defence Procurement, 53; Mr Paul Gascoigne, footballer, 28; Mr Duncan Goodhew, swimmer, 38; Mr Norman Griggs, former vice-president, Building Societies Association, 79; Lord Holme of Cheltenham, former president, Liberal Party, 59; Dr Henry Kissinger, statesman, 72; Mr Christopher Lee, actor, 73; Sir John Moberly, diplomat, 70; Miss Thea Musgrave, composer, 67; Miss Florence Sharples, former executive director, YWCA, 64; Mr Ravi Shastri, cricketer, 33; Mr Sam Snead, golfer, 83; Sir Ross Stainton, former chairman, British Airways, 81; Mr Michael Webster, former chairman, DRG, 75; Mr Don Williams, singer, 52; Mr Herman Wouk, novelist, 80.

TOMORROW: Professor John Alderson, former Chief Constable, Devon and Cornwall, 73; Miss Carroll Baker, film actress, 63; Mr Albert Booth, former government minister, 67; Professor Patrick Boulter, president of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, 68; Miss Faith Brown, impressionist, 48; Sir Patrick Browne, former Lord Justice of Appeal, 88; Sir Gerald Cash, former Governor-General, the Bahamas, 78; Sir Edward du Cann, former chairman, Lonrho, 71; Mrs Liz Edgar, showjumper, 52; Sir Robert Evans, former chairman, British Gas, 68; Sir Reginald Eyre, solicitor and former MP, 71; Mr Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, baritone, 70; Lord Goold, company director and former chairman, Royal Scottish Orchestra, 61; Dame Thora Hird, actress, 79; Miss Sue Holderness, actress, 46; Mr Norman Ireland, chairman, BTR, 68; Miss Rachel Kempson, actress, 85; Professor Gyorgy Ligeti, composer, 72; Mr Alan McLintock, former chairman, Woolwich Building Society, 70; Sir Patrick McNair-Wilson MP, 66; Mr Frank Middlemass, actor, 76; Mr Raymond Miquel, former chairman, Scottish Sports Council, 64; Sir Philip Otton, High Court judge, 62; Professor Stuart Piggott, archaeologist, 85; Mr Timothy Renton MP, 63; Lord Rippon of Hexham, QC, former government minister, 71; Dr Charles Saumarez Smith, Director, National Portrait Gallery, 41; Mr Wolfgang Schneiderhan, violinist, 80; Mr Edward Seaga, former prime minister of Jamaica, 65; Mr Julian Slade, composer, 65; Mr Richard Van Allan, operatic bass and director, 60; Sir Gordon Wolstenholme, physician, 82

Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

iJobs Job Widget
iJobs People

Geography Teacher

£85 - £140 per day: Randstad Education Cheshire: We require a teacher of Geogr...

HR Assistant / Human Resources Assistant

£Neg + Excellent Benefits: Guru Careers: An HR Assistant / Human Resources Ass...

Talent Community Coordinator

£Neg + Excellent Benefits: Guru Careers: A Talent Community Coordinator is nee...

Business Support - Banking - Halifax - £250 pd

£150 - £250 per day: Orgtel: HR Analyst - Banking - HR - Halifax - £150 - £250...

Day In a Page

Backhanders, bribery and abuses of power have soared in China as economy surges

Bribery and abuses of power soar in China

The bribery is fuelled by the surge in China's economy but the rules of corruption are subtle and unspoken, finds Evan Osnos, as he learns the dark arts from a master
Commonwealth Games 2014: Highland terriers stole the show at the opening ceremony

Highland terriers steal the show at opening ceremony

Gillian Orr explores why a dog loved by film stars and presidents is finally having its day
German art world rocked as artists use renowned fat sculpture to distil schnapps

Brewing the fat from artwork angers widow of sculptor

Part of Joseph Beuys' 1982 sculpture 'Fettecke' used to distil schnapps
BBC's The Secret History of Our Streets reveals a fascinating window into Britain's past

BBC takes viewers back down memory lane

The Secret History of Our Streets, which returns with three films looking at Scottish streets, is the inverse of Benefits Street - delivering warmth instead of cynicism
Joe, film review: Nicolas Cage delivers an astonishing performance in low budget drama

Nicolas Cage shines in low-budget drama Joe

Cage plays an ex-con in David Gordon Green's independent drama, which has been adapted from a novel by Larry Brown
How to make your own gourmet ice lollies, granitas, slushy cocktails and frozen yoghurt

Make your own ice lollies and frozen yoghurt

Think outside the cool box for this summer's tempting frozen treats
Ford Fiesta is UK's most popular car of all-time, with sales topping 4.1 million since 1976

Fiesta is UK's most popular car of all-time

Sales have topped 4.1 million since 1976. To celebrate this milestone, four Independent writers recall their Fiestas with pride
10 best reed diffusers

Heaven scent: 10 best reed diffusers

Keep your rooms smelling summery and fresh with one of these subtle but distinctive home fragrances that’ll last you months
Commonwealth Games 2014: Female boxers set to compete for first time

Female boxers set to compete at Commonwealth Games for first time

There’s no favourites and with no headguards anything could happen
Five things we’ve learned so far about Manchester United under Louis van Gaal

Five things we’ve learned so far about United under Van Gaal

It’s impossible to avoid the impression that the Dutch manager is playing to the gallery a little
Screwing your way to the top? Good for Lana Del Rey for helping kill that myth

Screwing your way to the top?

Good for Lana Del Rey for helping kill that myth, says Grace Dent
Will the young Britons fighting in Syria be allowed to return home and resume their lives?

Will Britons fighting in Syria be able to resume their lives?

Tony Blair's Terrorism Act 2006 has made it an offence to take part in military action abroad with a "political, ideological, religious or racial motive"
Beyoncé poses as Rosie the Riveter, the wartime poster girl who became a feminist pin-up

Beyoncé poses as Rosie the Riveter

The wartime poster girl became the ultimate American symbol of female empowerment
The quest to find the perfect pair of earphones: Are custom, 3D printed earbuds the solution?

The quest to find the perfect pair of earphones

Earphones don't fit properly, offer mediocre audio quality and can even be painful. So the quest to design the perfect pair is music to Seth Stevenson's ears
US Army's shooting star: Lt-Col Steven Cole is the man Hollywood calls when it wants to borrow a tank or check a military uniform

Meet the US Army's shooting star

Lt-Col Steven Cole is the man Hollywood calls when it wants to borrow a tank or check a military uniform