Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.


Service appointments

The following senior Service appointments have been announced by the Ministry of Defence:


Captain: JB Simpson - MOD Bath.

Commanders: MA Cornberg - Heron; JE Dawson - exchange Australia; PE Godwin - Staff of FOSF; CA Johnstone-Burt - Brazen in Cmd; MWB Shaw - Staff of 2SL/CNH; SA Thorburn - RNSC Greenwich; T. Tomkow - MOD London.


Chaplains: GJ Smith - Staff of FOSF Devonport; NE Woodcock - Sultan.

Retirements: Commander RPP Burkitt; Acting Commander CE Robertson.


Brigadier: JG Reith - to MOD.

Colonel: AW Merrick - to HQ AFCENT.

Lieutenant-Colonels: SP Cowlam RLC - to be CO 10 TPT Regt RLC; PW Middlemiss KOSB - to HQ LANDCENT; RL Scott-Bowden RS - to be CO 1 RS; RM Venning RGR - to School of INF (WARMINSTER) HQ; RJR West R SIGNALS - to SHAPE; AW Russ R SIGNALS - to be CO 14 SIG REGT (EW).

Retirement: Col CJ Constable Late RCT.


Gp Capt JA Broadbent, Gp Capt CR Fowler and Gp Capt I. Sloss, to be Aides-de-Camp to the Queen.

The Rev J. Shedden RAF, to be Honorary Chaplain to the Queen.

Air Commodore: MJ Gardiner - to HQ 38 Gp.

Group Captains: BM Cottam - to RAF Staff College Bracknell; TM Arnot - to HQ PTC.

Wing Commanders: KG Brackstone - to HQPTC; RG Parker - to HQPTC; BL Pile - to HQ 1 GP Benson; EM Stuart - to RAF Lyneham; AFE Williams - to RAF Cranwell; RMH Ellis - to HQ STC; IR McLuskie - to SHFHQ BENSON; PG Middleton - to SHAPE INT STAFF; CJ Gowers - to MOD AFD/D AIR OFF; KG Grumbley - to HQ AIRCENT; PWM Price - to HQ STC; WA Johnson - to JOC PINDAR; KJ Pellatt - to MOD AFD/D AIR DEF; D. Strickland - to SHAPE INT; W. Lacey - to USA; GJ Stewart - to IUKADGE Sector South; SJ Lloyd - to MOD DGMSI; GP Dixon - to Exchange Duties USA; WJ Gimblett - to JSPI RAF Wyton; AF Stuart - to HQ PTC; AMO Scott - to HQ STC; DC Roome - to HQ PTC; EJ Scaplehorn - to HQ AF Northwest; DB Love - to HQ LOGS CMD.