The New Government

Labour reshuffle
Click to follow
The Independent Online

Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service: Tony Blair

Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions: John Prescott

Chancellor of the Exchequer: Gordon Brown

Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs: Robin Cook

Lord Chancellor: Lord Irvine of Lairg

Secretary of State for the Home Department: Jack Straw

Secretary of State for Education and Employment: David Blunkett

President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons: Margaret Beckett

Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster: Jack Cunningham

Secretary of State for Defence: George Robertson

Secretary of State for Health: Frank Dobson

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury (Chief Whip): Ann Taylor

Secretary for Culture, Media and Sport: Chris Smith

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland: Mo Mowlam

Secretary of State for International Development: Clare Short

Secretary of State for Social Security: Alistair Darling

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food: Nick Brown

Lord Privy Seal, Leader of the House of Lords and Minister for Woman: Baroness Jay of Paddington

Secretary of State for Trade and Industry: Stephen Byers

Secretary of State for Wales: Paul Murphy

Chief Secretary to the Treasury: Alan Milburn

Secretary of State for Scotland: John Reid


Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Ministers of State: Joyce Quin, Baroness Hayman

Parliamentary Secretary: Elliot Morley

Cabinet Office-

Ministers of State: Lord Falconer of Thoroton, Ian McCartney

Culture, Media

and Sport

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State

Kate Hoey (Minister for Sport), Alan Howarth, Janet Anderson


Ministers of State: John Spellar, Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State: Peter Kilfoyle

Education and Employment

Ministers of State: Andrew Smith, Estelle Morris, Baroness Blackstone

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State:

Malcolm Wicks, Jacqui Smith, Margaret Hodge, Michael Wills

Environment, Transport and the Regions

Ministers of State: Michael Meacher, Hilary Armstrong, Nick Raynsford

Minister for Transport (will attend Cabinet meetings): Lord Macdonald of Tradeston

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State: Chris Mullin, Beverley Hughes, Lord Whitty, Keith Hill

Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

Ministers of State: Peter Hain, Geoff Hoon, John Battle

Parliamentary Under Secretarty of State: Baroness Scotland of Asthal


Ministers of State: Tessa Jowell, John Denham

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State: Gisela Stuart, John Hutton, Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Home Office

Ministers of State, Paul Boateng, Charles Clarke, Barbara Roche

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State: Mike O'Brien, Lord Bassam of Brighton

International Development

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State: George Foulkes

Law Officers' Department

Attorney-General: Lord Williams of Mostyn

Advocate-General for Scotland: Lynda Clark

Solicitor-General: Ross Cranston

Lord Chancellor's Department

Parliamentary Secretaries: Keith Vaz, David Lock

Northern Ireland Office

Minister of State: Adam Ingram

Parliamentary Under Secretaries of State George Howarth, John McFall, Lord Dubs

Privy Council Office

Parliamentary Secretary: Paddy Tipping

Social Security

Minister of State: Jeff Rooker

Parliamentary Under Secretaries of State: Angela Eagle, Hugh Bayley, Baroness Hollis of Heigham

Scottish Office

Minister of State: Brian Wilson

Trade and Industry

Ministers of State: Helen Liddell, Patricia Hewitt, Richard Caborn

Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State: Kim Howells, Alan Johnson

Minister of Science (unpaid) Lord Sainsbury of Turville


Paymaster-General: Dawn Primarolo

Financial Secretary: Stephen Timms

Economic Secretary-Melanie Johnson

Welsh Office

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State: David Hanson

Whips' Office

Deputy Chief Whips: Keith Bradley, Thomas McAvoy, Graham Allen, Robert Ainsworth, James Dowd, Clive Betts, David Jamieson, Jane Kennedy

Assistant Government Whips: Anne McGuire, David Clelland, Michael Hall, Gerry Sutcliffe, Kevin Hughes, Greg Pope