Chess leaders

Click to follow
The Independent Online
In the British Chess Championships in Plymouth, the lead is shared by Julian Hodgson and Jonathan Mestel, the only players to have won all three games. Mestel defeated Simon Bibby, while Hodgson, the defending champion, beat off a strong attack by the women's champion, Susan Arkell. Six players have 2 1/2 points: Michael Basman, Philip Rossiter, Andrew Martin, Ali Mortazavi, Simon Small and Adam Collinson.