The European Elections: Languages

Click to follow
The Independent Online
There are 34 languages spoken in the EU. Ten of them are official languages: English, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Irish, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese. All but Irish are working languages: meetings and documents are routinely interpreted and translated among these nine tongues.