Commonwealth Games / Cycling: Officials relent on cyclists

Click to follow
ENGLAND'S women's time-trial team were finally awarded their bronze medals last night, after the cycling event had come close to descending into a two-day farce.

Officials originally ruled that because only four countries had entered the 50km event, which took place last Friday, no bronze medal would be awarded. But after the English quartet of Yvonne McGregor, Maxine Johnson, Julia Freeman and Maria Lawrence finished third the rule was changed.

When the celebrating cyclists reached the podium to collect their medals they were told the officials had suddenly reverted to their original ruling. After two days of thought, and another change of mind, the team were eventually given their medals after the individual road race.

However, McGregor was not there to collect her medal. She had been forced to pull out of yesterday's race with a respiratory problem, and received her medal in hospital from her team-mates.

Chris Lillywhite was disqualified from third place in the men's road race when the Australian team protested that their rider Grant Rice was jostled by Lillywhite near the finish. The race jury demoted Lillywhite to fourth and awarded the bronze medal to the South African Willelm Engelbrecht, who had crossed the line fourth. It was South Africa's first medal at the Games.