Australia captain Michael Clarke named ICC player of the year

Clarke also bags the test cricketer of the year award on the day he plays his 100th Test for his country

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Australia captain Michael Clarke is this year's winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as the International Cricket Council player of the year.

Clarke, like England captain Alastair Cook, is taking part in his 100th Test as the Ashes moves to Perth.

The ICC announced the winners of its annual awards during teatime at the WACA, with Clarke also its Test cricketer of the year and Cook named as captain of a select world Test team.

Other winners included Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, one-day international cricketer of the year, and India batsman Cheteshwar Pujara as the emerging player.

Ireland all-rounder Kevin O'Brien claimed the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award and English umpire Richard Kettleborough was top of his class on the ICC's elite panel.

The 2013 winners include:

Cricketer of the Year - Michael Clarke (Australia)

Test Cricketer of the Year - Clarke

Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year - Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

ODI Cricketer of the Year - Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Cheteshwar Pujara (India)

Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year - Kevin O'Brien (Ireland)

T20 Women's Cricketer of the Year - Sarah Taylor (England)