Champions Trophy: Denesh Ramdin will not appeal ban for falsely claiming a catch at the Kia Oval
Ramdin celebrated taking the wicket of Misbah ul-Haq at the Kia Oval despite the ball being grounded
Tuesday 11 June 2013
Denesh Ramdin will not appeal his two-match ban for falsely claiming a catch during the West Indies' two-wicket victory over Pakistan last week, the West Indies Cricket Board has announced.
Ramdin celebrated taking the wicket of Misbah ul-Haq at the Kia Oval last Friday after appearing to catch the ball after it flew off the Pakistan captain's inside edge.
Replays showed Ramdin had grounded the catch and then scooped it up again, causing the batsman to be reinstated.
The International Cricket Council (ICC) took a dim view of Ramdin's actions, banning him for two games and fining him his match fee after finding him guilty of "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game" in the Champions Trophy Group B match.
The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) revealed last night that Ramdin would not be contesting the punishment.
The WICB tweeted: "Wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin has decided not to appeal his suspension and fine. He will therefore miss the matches vs India and South Africa."
Chris Broad, of the ICC's elite panel of match referees, adjudicated on the matter.
Broad said: "This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game.
"I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."
Ramdin will be available for the Champions Trophy semi-finals should the Windies progress from Group B.
They play their second group stage game today at the Kia Oval against India.
Look beyond the usual shows for the best festive telly
Geoffrey Macnab does not like the comedian's big screen debut
The battle for control of Stieg Larsson's £30m legacy
Tim Sherwood challenges Daniel Levy to set out vision for Tottenham Hotspur’s future
The worst owner in football? Vincent Tan faces fan backlash as Malky Mackay clings to Cardiff job
Bonuses for goals and top four finish as Luiz Suarez joins Premier League's top three earners
Luis Suarez: Liverpool striker ends exit speculation by signing 'long-term' contract
Transfer news: Tottenham Hotspur - January transfer targets
- 1 Tim Sherwood challenges Daniel Levy to set out vision for Tottenham Hotspur’s future
- 2 French pub fined €9,000 after customers returned empties to bar - because it's 'undeclared labour'
- 3 Sun will 'flip upside down' within weeks, says Nasa
- 4 #Teamnigella: It’s the only side to be on
- 5 Christmas comes early: Justin Bieber is 'retiring from music'