Collingwood named as England Twenty20 captain

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Paul Collingwood, who resigned as England one-day captain last year, was today named to lead the Twenty20 side in next month's World Cup.

Collingwood stepped down because he felt the job was affecting his one-day form.

All-rounder Andrew Flintoff was named in the 15-man squad subject to a full recovery from the keyhole surgery on his right knee which will keep him out of the two-test series against West Indies starting at Lord's next Wednesday.

The tournament opens on 5 June with the final at Lord's on 21 June.

England squad:

Paul Collingwood (captain), James Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Andrew Flintoff, James Foster, Robert Key, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Eoin Morgan, Graham Napier, Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright.