ICC Champions Trophy 2017: England win the toss for Bangladesh opener

The hosts fancy chasing in the opening game of the Champions Trophy

Click to follow
The Independent Online

England won the toss and chose to bowl first against Bangladesh in the opening match of the Champions Trophy at The Oval on Thursday. 

England decided the pitch looked green enough for a four-man pace attack and selected Jake Ball and left out spinner Adil Rashid, who played in the last eight matches. 

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza said they would have bowled first, too. 

Bangladesh, dismissed for 84 by India at The Oval on Tuesday in a warmup, are playing Imrul Kayes at No. 3, and Rubel Hossain as a third quick.

England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eion Morgan (captain), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood, Jake Ball. 

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain.