Inzamam fined after Pakistan romp home

Click to follow

Pakistan crushed Sri Lanka by 222 runs on the fourth day of the third and final Test here yesterday to keep their unbeaten record at the National Stadium intact. Sri Lanka, needing a record 451 to inflict their first whitewash over Pakistan on home turf, were dismissed for 228.

It was a consolation victory for Pakistan, who lost the series 2-1 after Sri Lanka had won the first two Tests in Rawalpindi and Peshawar.

Inzamam-ul-Haq, the Pakistan vice-captain, was handed a 25 per cent match-fee fine, suspended for six months, for criticising Sri Lankan players, while the Pakistan team were also fined 25 per cent for a slow over-rate in the first innings.

Fourth day; Sri Lanka won toss PAKISTAN - First Innings 256 (Inzamam-ul-Haq 86, Shahid Afridi 74; M Muralitharan 4-89). SRI LANKA - First Innings 227 PAKISTAN - Second Innings (Overnight: 375 for 7)

*ÿMoin Khan c Arnold b Pushpakumara 70 Waqar Younis c Dilshan b Muralitharan 39 Irfan Fazil c Jayasuriya b Pushpakumara 3 Mohammad Akram not out 1 Extras (16lb 18nb) 34 Total (133.5 overs) 421 Fall (cont): 8-408 9-419. Bowling: Vaas 34-8-107-1; Pushpakumara 20.5-3-66-4; Wickramasinghe 26-6-82-1; Muralitharan 40-6-107-4; Jayasuriya 9-1-28-0; Arnold 4-0-15-0.

SRI LANKA - Second Innings

M S Atapattu c Moin Khan b Akram 23 *S T Jayasuriya lbw b Waqar Younis 10 R P Arnold c Moin Khan b Waqar Younis 8 D P M des Jayawardene b Irfan Fazil 29 T M Dilshan run out 5 ÿR S Kaluwitharana b Shoaib Akhtar 33 S I de Saram lbw b Shahid Afridi 18 W P U J C Vaas c Shoaib b Shahid 28 K R Pushpakumara c Irfan b Shahid 44 G P Wickramasinghe run out 0 M Muralitharan not out 5 Extras (1b 7lb 17nb) 25 Total (46 overs) 228

Fall: 1-27 2-41 3-41 4-59 5-86 6-121 7-145 8-191 9-199. Bowling: Waqar Younis 11-4-32-2; Shoaib Akhtar 13-1-64-1; Mohammad Akram 10-1-44-1; Irfan Fazil 4-0-30-1; Shahid Afridi 8-1-50-3.

Umpires: Mohammad Riazuddin and R B Tiffin (Zim).