Tim Bresnan reprimanded by ICC for hitting stumps

Click to follow
The Independent Online

England all-rounder Tim Bresnan has been reprimanded by the International Cricket Council following yesterday's draw with India.

The Yorkshireman took five wickets and scored 14 vital runs as England chased down 338 to tie with the hosts in Bangalore, but hit his stumps with his bat after being bowled by Piyush Chawla with the last ball of the 48th over.



Consequently, Bresnan pleaded guilty to contravening Level 1 offence (Section 2.1.2) of the ICC Code of Conduct for players and team officials which relates to "abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings".



All Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and/or a maximum penalty of the imposition of a fine up to 50% of a player's match fee.



Roshan Mahanama of the Emirates elite panel of ICC match referees said of the incident: "While giving my verdict, I took into account that Bresnan admitted his mistake, apologised for his action and that it was his first offence.



"Further, it was encouraging to note that Bresnan on his own initiative met the umpires concerned and reiterated that his action was unintentional."



Meanwhile, England have been fined for a slow over-rate in the game, with captain Andrew Strauss fined 20% of his match fee and the rest of the side 10%.

Comments