Trio return for England women's Ashes defence

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Katherine Brunt, Heather Knight and Anya Shrubsole return from injury to feature in the England squad for the defence of the women's Ashes in Australia in the new year.

The series will again be contested over three formats using the points system that was in place for this summer's series in England, which the home team won 12-4. There will be one Test – kicking off the series on 10 January in Perth – three one-day internationals and three Twenty20s.

Blunt, Knight and Shrubsole missed the recent tour of West Indies, while Lancashire bowler Kathryn Cross, who made her debut on that tour, features in the Test and ODI squads. Kent's Natasha Farrant replaces Cross in the only change for the T20 leg of the series.

England Women's Ashes Test and ODI squad C Edwards (captain, Kent), A Brindle (Sussex), K Brunt (Yorkshire), K Cross (Lancashire), G Elwiss (Sussex), L Greenway (Kent), J Gunn (Nottinghamshire), D Hazell (Yorkshire), A Jones (Warwickshire), H Knight (Berkshire), N Sciver (Surrey), A Shrubsole (Somerset), S Taylor (Sussex), L Winfield (Yorkshire), D Wyatt (Nottinghamshire).